Llanelly Tramways

Owner Llanelly Tramways Company
28th September 1882 (horse)
Operator Llanelly Tramways Company
Taken over May 1905 (British Power Company Limited, owners of the Llanelly and District Electric Lighting and Traction Company Limited)
Converted March/April (?) 1908 from 3ft 0ins gauge to 4ft 8½ins
Last 3ft 0ins gauge horse tram 31st March 1908
Horse service re-opened April 1908 with three ex-London County Council Tramways 4ft 8½ins horsecars
Taken over 1909 (Balfour, Beatty and Company Limited, via the Llanelly and District Electric Lighting and Traction Company Limited)
Operator Llanelly and District Electric Lighting and Traction Company Limited
Last horse tram 11th June 1911
First electric service 12th June 1911
Taken over (company) 1912 (Tramways Light and Power Company, a wholly owned subsidiary of Balfour Beatty and Company Limited)
Named changed (company) 1924 (Llanelly and District Electric Supply Company Limited)
13th February 1933
Length 0.75 miles (horse); 6.23 mile (electric)
Gauge 3ft 0ins/4ft 8½ins (horse); 4ft 8½ins (electric)

Button description (horse era)
Uniforms not worn

Button description (electric era)
Plain with rim
Materials known Brass; nickel; chrome
Button Line reference [None]

Comment Several photographs have survived of Llanelly's horse-drawn tram era (see link), and these suggest that uniforms were not worn. Whilst uniforms were certainly worn during the electric era, an excellent studio portrait of a Llanelly motorman clearly shows that the uniform jacket simply bore plain buttons with a rim; whether these were brass or nickel is however currently unclear.

In addition to the Llanelly Tramways, Balfour Beatty also owned, operated or had a significant interest in the following systems: Cheltenham and District Light Railway, City of Carlisle Electric Tramways, Dartford Council Light Railways, Dunfermline and District Tramways, Falkirk and District Tramways, Leamington and Warwick Electric Tramways, Llandudno and Colwyn Bay Electric Railway, Luton Corporation Tramways, Mansfield and District Light Railway, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Tramways and Wemyss and District Tramways.