Dartford Council Light Railways

Owner Dartford Urban District Council
14th February 1906 (electric)
Operator (lessee) J G White and Company
Taken over (lease) 1909 (Balfour Beatty and Company Limited)
Taken over (operation) 8th August 1917 (Bexley UDC Tramways), following the destruction of the entire tramcar fleet in a depot fire the previous day
Taken over (operation)
1st April 1921 (Bexley Council Tramways and Dartford Light Railways Joint Committee)
Taken over 1st July 1933 (London Passenger Transport Board)
Length 6.55 miles
Gauge 4ft 8½ins

Button description Plain with a scalloped rim
Materials known Brass; nickel; chrome
Button Line reference [None]

Comment A single surviving photograph suggests, but by no means proves, that the uniforms bore plain buttons with a scalloped rim, a pattern used by Balfour Beatty and Company on several of its tramway systems. The buttons would probably have been brass.

In addition to the Dartford Council Light Railways, Balfour Beatty also owned, operated or had a significant interest in the following systems: Cheltenham and District Light Railway, City of Carlisle Electric Tramways, Dunfermline and District Tramways Co, Falkirk and District Tramways Company, Leamington and Warwick Electric Tramways, Llandudno and Colwyn Bay Electric Railway, Llanelly Tramways, Luton Corporation Tramways, Mansfield and District Light Railway, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Tramways and Wemyss and District Tramways.