Camborne and Redruth Tramways
Owner Urban Electric Supply Company Limited, a subsidiary of Edmundson's Electricity Corporation
Opened 7th November 1902 (electric)
Operator Urban Electric Supply Company Limited
Closed 29th September 1927 (passengers); August 1934 (mineral workings)
Length 3.45 miles
Gauge 3ft 6ins
Button description Elaborate script initials, ‘UES’ within rim
Materials known Brass
Button Line reference [None]
Comment As well as the Camborne and Redruth Tramways, the Urban Electric Supply Company Limited also owned the small North Derbyshire system based around Glossop (see link), whilst its parent company, the EEC, owned the system in Scarborough (see link). The UESCoLtd preferred to work both its tramways, as well as its core business operations (electricity supply) directly, so the button pictured is almost certainly the pattern worn by staff working these two tramways.
Although passenger operations ceased in 1927, the tramway continued to haul mineral traffic for a further seven years, until this was eventually made defunct by an aerial ropeway, almost certainly a unique occurrence within the British Isles.